PM Imran orders opening of Pak-Afg border ‘despite global pandemic’

HomePolitics & News

PM Imran orders opening of Pak-Afg border ‘despite global pandemic’

Prime Minister Imran Khan has ordered opening of the Pak-Afghan border in Chaman “regardless of international pandemic” to assist Afghan “brothers and

Half a million join the Prime Minister’s Corona Relief Tiger Force
PM angry at sugar mafia’s threats
Lack of details, transparency in PM’s stimulus package

Prime Minister Imran Khan has ordered opening of the Pak-Afghan border in Chaman “regardless of international pandemic” to assist Afghan “brothers and sisters” because the area feels the pinch of the novel coronavirus outbreak.

In an early Friday tweet, Imran stated: “Regardless of international pandemic of COVID 19, we stay dedicated to supporting our Afghan brothers & sisters.”

The premier added that he had given directions to open the border between Chaman and Spin Boldak, Kandahar. He additionally advised authorities to “let vehicles crossover into Afghanistan”.

“In time of disaster, we stay steadfast with Afghanistan,” he asserted.

The John Hopkins information stated Afghanistan has 22 confirmed circumstances of the coronavirus and one demiseIn response to Worldwide Organisation of Migration, over 100,000 Afghans had been deported or returned voluntarily from Iran for the reason that outbreak of the virus within the nation.

Majority of Pakistan’s 454 confirmed circumstances are pilgrims who returned from Iran via the Taftan crossing whereas others are with journey historical past. In Sindh, over 40 sufferers contracted the ailments regionally.

PM Imran’s determination comes at a time when nations throughout the globe have shut down borders and restricted air journey to include the lethal pneumonia-like virus that has induced over 9,000 deaths and contaminated over 200,000.

Here’s a record of nations which have shut their borders and restricted air journey.

▪ Argentina: Borders closed to non-residents, efficient March 15.

▪ Canada: Borders are closed to all travellers who should not residents.

▪ Costa Rica: Borders closed to non-residents, efficient March 16 via April 12.

▪ Cyprus: Solely its residents, together with different Europeans engaged on an island, folks with spec permits be allowed.

▪ Colombia: Efficient 17 March, Colombia will shut borders fully till 30 Might.

▪ Czech Republic: Partially closed its borders on March 14.

▪ Denmark: Closed its borders to all non-citizens March 14.

▪ El Salvador: On March 11, the President of El Salvador introduced an Govt Order barring the entry of foreigners.

▪ Estonia: Efficient March 17, 2020, international vacationers is not going to be allowed to enter Estonia.

▪ Germany: Efficient March 16, 2020 Germany has partially closed its borders with France, Austria, Denmark, Luxembourg, and Switzerland.

▪ Ghana: Efficient March 17, 2020 Ghana will ban anybody has been to a rustic with greater than 200 circumstances.

▪ Honduras: Borders closed for per week to all visitors.

▪ Hungary: Hungary will shut its borders for all passenger transport and solely Hungarian residents will likely be allowed to enter, Prime Minister Viktor Orbán stated on March 16.

▪ India: Efficient March 13, 2020, all vacationer visas and OCI entries had been suspended till at the very least April 15, whereas holders of those visas who had been already within the nation can keep. Additionally tightened/closed their border with neighbouring nations. India additionally mandated 14-day quarantine for residents getting back from seven nations: China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, South Korea and Spain.

▪ Israel: Efficient March 12, 2020, international travellers from any nation are denied entry, dwelling isolation for 14 days.

▪ Jordan: Efficient March 17, 2020 Jordan will cease all incoming and outgoing passenger flights into the nation.

▪ Kenya: Efficient March 17, 2020 Kenya halted the entry of foreigners from nations which have confirmed coronavirus circumstances.

▪ Latvia: Efficient March 17, 2020 all intl journey by air, railway, sea and highway, will likely be cancelled.

▪ Lithuania: closing border for foreigners, aside from these having residence permits,

▪ Malaysia: All residents are prohibited from leaving the nation whereas foreigners are prohibited from coming into the nation efficient 18 March 2020.

▪ Moldova: closing its airspace and terrestrial borders for all foreigners.

▪ North Korea: Closed its borders to all intl vacationers on January 21, one of many first nations to take action.

▪ Norway: Efficient March 16, 2020 closed airports quickly.

▪ Palestine: Vacationer ban of West Financial institution from March 5, 2020 for 14 days.

▪ Panama: From 11.59 p.m on Monday evening (March 16), solely Panamanians can be allowed to enter.

▪ Peru: Peru restricts entry to the inside of the nation.

▪ Poland: Efficient March 15, 2020, for a 10 days’ interval. Entry ban for all foreigners

▪ Russia: Borders closed to foreigners with some exceptions, efficient March 18 and till Might 1.

▪ Saudi Arabia: All intl flights suspended, besides in distinctive circumstances, for a interval of two weeks, as of March 15, 2020.

▪ Slovakia: Closed its borders to all non-residents.

▪ Suriname: Will shut its borders for all individuals and flights beginning March 14.

▪ Trinidad and Tobago: On March 16, closed its borders to all besides Trinidad and Tobago nationals

▪ Ukraine: Beginning March 15, Ukraine has closed its border for foreigners for 2 weeks.

▪ UAE: UAE has suspended the issuance of all visas to foreigners besides diplomatic passport holders, with impact from March 17.

Schengen nations will prohibit incoming journey of all non-residents aside from relations of EU residents, medical personnel and folks chargeable for the transport of products, from midday 17 March for 30 days.