Revealed: Winners of the ‘Oscars of watches’


Revealed: Winners of the ‘Oscars of watches’

Today, the winners of the well-known 'Oscars of watches', the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG), were announced. The event, which recognises th

Bill Gates Is Now A Target Of COVID-19 Coronavirus Conspiracy Theories
How amazing gadgets are making the world a better place
Minecraft Dungeons review – hours of fun for locked-down families

Today, the winners of the well-known ‘Oscars of watches’, the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG), were announced. The event, which recognises the most impressive watchmaking creations from around the world, was held in Geneva, Switzerland and held an exclusive unveiling of the winning timepieces.

The top two awards of the night were the Aiguille d’Or Grand Prix and the Special Jury Prize. The Aiguille d’Or Grand Prix – the highest prize presented at the event – was presented to Greubel Forsey for its highly-anticipated GMT Quadruple Tourbillon. The Grand Complication timepiece, which is close to five years in the making, is seen as a marvel of watchmaking, combining sophistication and elegance to create a timepiece of outstanding quality.

The jury also presented the Special Jury Prize to Christophe Claret for its X-Trem 1 Haute Joaillerie, a watch which combines exquisite diamonds, an ingenious jumping-hours display, and a highly complicated tourbillon movement.

In addition to the two top awards of the night, there were fourteen other prizes which were awarded for their respective watchmaking categories. These included the Innovation Prize, which was awarded to Arnold & Son for its revolutionary True Beat Seconds, the “Ladies’ High-Mech” Prize, which was won by Chanel for its intricate Mademoiselle Privé Coromandel watch, and the “Sports” Prize, won by Jaeger-LeCoultre for its rugged Polaris Chronograph.

The event also saw six awards presented to young watchmakers who had distinguished themselves through their outstanding creations. These included the ‘Chronométrie’ Prize, the ‘Men’s Watch Prize’, and the ‘Ladies Watch Prize’, all of which were awarded to Ivan Hernandez, Felipe Massa, and Leslie Kobylinski respectively.

The GPHG is a highly-anticipated event in the world of watchmaking and every year celebrates the incredible achievements of watchmakers who create some of the world’s most astounding and sought-after timepieces.

Congratulations to all of the winners from this year’s GPHG!

Revealed: Winners of the ‘Oscars of watches’

Watch aficionados have been eagerly awaiting the announcement of the winners of the prestigious ‘Oscars of watches’ – and now, the wait is over!

The annual awards are the most respected in the industry, recognising the best and most innovative watches of the year.

This year’s top-rated timepieces included:

Men’s watches

  • Patek Philippe Grandmaster Chime – Ref. 6300A-010
  • F.P. Journe Centigraphe Souveraine – Ref. F.P.J2006-L
  • MB&F Horological Machine 6 – HM6-SV

Women’s watches

  • Patek Philippe Grand Dame Ref. 5201/1A-010
  • Chopard L.U.C XP/Master of Diamonds Ref 161.003.88/0003
  • Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Tourbillon 41mm Ref. 25977BC

Each of these exemplary timepieces resemble true works of art and are a testament to the skills of some of the best watchmakers in the world. True connoisseurs will no doubt be queuing up to add these limited-edition pieces to their collection – but hurry, as these special watches won’t be around for long!